Home » News » European XFEL takes over rotating presidency of EIROforum

European XFEL takes over rotating presidency of EIROforum

portrait of Robert Feidenhans'l
Professor Robert Feidenhans’l
headshot of Thomas Feurer
Professor Thomas Feurer

On 1 July, Prof. Robert Feidenhans’l, the Managing Director of European XFEL, assumed the chairmanship of EIROforum, succeeding Prof. Carole Mundell, the Director of Science at the European Space Agency (ESA). The rotating chair transitions annually among the EIROforum members.

Prof. Feidenhans’l expressed his gratitude to chair the international research organization: “It is a great honor for me to represent EIROforum as President. I am dedicated to fostering scientific exchange among our members as well as other European scientific organizations and institutions. Together, we will contribute to elevating the visibility of European science and its remarkable potential.”

Effective from 1 January 2024, Robert Feidenhans’l will be succeeded as chairman of EIROforum by the new European XFEL Managing Director Prof. Thomas Feurer. The European XFEL chairmanship tenure concludes in July 2024.